• No products in the cart.

legends of the four beasts 远古中国四大圣兽(yuǎn gǔ zhōng guó sì dà shéng shòu)

In ancient China, there are the Azure Dragon青龙, White Tiger白虎, Vermilion Bird朱雀, Black Tortoise玄武 of the four beasts. There are always a lot of legends about them.






“东青龙,西白虎,南朱雀,北玄武”(dōng qīng lóng, xī bái hǔ, nán zhū què, běi xuán wǔ)—–Azure Dragon in East, White Tiger in West, Vermilion Bird in South, Black Tortoise in North.

According to the archaeological evidence, the concept of the Four Symbols may have existed as early as China’s Neolithic period (some 6,000 years ago). This is based on some clam shells and bones forming the images of the Azure Dragon and the White Tiger that were found in a tomb in Henan. In addition, it is claimed that one of the artifacts from the tomb of Marquis Yi of Zeng (c. 433 B.C.) is a lacquer-painted wardrobe with the patterns of the Four Symbols and 28 Mansions.
The Azure Dragon is the mythological creature in the East, as it is said that when the seven mansions in that area (Horn, Neck, Root, Room, Heart, Tail, and Winnowing Basket) are joined up, they form the shape of a dragon. The Azure Dragon corresponds to the season of spring. As the dragon is considered by the Chinese as the noblest of animals, it is the head of the Four Symbols. Although Chinese dragons are commonly associated with water, the Azure Dragon is the exception, as its element is wood. In Chinese mythology, the dragon is regarded as a fearsome and mighty creature. Yet, unlike their Western counterparts, Chinese dragons are believed to be just, benevolent, and bringers of wealth and good fortune.

The mythological creature in the West is the White Tiger, and its seven mansions are the Legs, Bond, Stomach, Hairy Head, Net, Turtle Beak and Three Stars. The White Tiger corresponds to the season of autumn. The White Tiger’s element is metal, and it was held to be the God of War. In this capacity, the White Tiger was seen as a protector and defender, not just from mortal enemies, but also from evil spirits.


In the North, the mythological creature in the Black Tortoise, and its seven mansions are the Dipper, Ox, Girl, Emptiness, Rooftop, Encampment and Wall. The Black Tortoise corresponds to the season of winter. The element of the Black Tortoise is water, and this mythological creature is commonly associated with longevity and wisdom (just as these virtues are traditionally attributed to ordinary tortoises in Chinese mythology).


The mythological creature in the South is the Vermillion Bird, and its seven mansions are the Well, Ghosts, Willow, Star, Extended Net, Wings, and Chariot. The Vermillion Bird corresponds to the season of summer. Interestingly, the Vermillion Bird has been considered to be identical to the Phoenix. The Phoenix is traditionally associated with fire, and this is also the case with the Vermillion Bird. As a mythological creature, the Phoenix is considered as a symbol of good luck.

Within the Four Symbols of ancient China, astronomy and mythology co-existed side by side and may be seen as a harmonious fusion of science and art. By studying these mythological creatures, one is able not only to learn about the scientific advances of the ancient Chinese but also their belief system and the way they perceived and explained the world they lived in



Learn native Chinese with Chinlingo, Easy and Fun with “Little Fresh Meat ” and “Sweetie ”

Click here to win free trial lesson

Contact us: Facebook: chinlingo

Wechat:lovechinlingo; lovechinlingo2

Email: public@chinlingo.com


0 responses on "legends of the four beasts 远古中国四大圣兽(yuǎn gǔ zhōng guó sì dà shéng shòu)"

    Leave a Message

    Copyright ©right 2017 Chinlingo Inc. All rights reserved.  闽ICP备15003609号-2